

Duval County Public Schools

September 16, 2010, Special Board Meeting

Ms. Brenda Priestly Jackson, Chairman Ms. Nancy Broner, Vice-Chairman Ms. Martha Barrett Ms. Betty Burney Ms. Vicki Drake Mr. W. C. Gentry Mr. Tommy Hazouri Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent

ATTENDANCE AT THIS SPECIAL MEETING OF THE DUVAL COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD: All Board Members were present. Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent, was also present.

Call Meeting to Order

1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER - SPECIAL MEETING

Minutes:

The Chairman called the Special Board Meeting to order at 5:08 p.m.

2. APPROVAL OF THE SEPTEMBER 16, 2010, AGENDA

Minutes:

Motions:

That the Duval County School Board approve the September 16, 2010, Agenda as submitted on September 10, 2010, with the following changes: - PASS

1. There are no changes.	
Vote Results	
Motion: Nancy Broner	
Second: Thomas Hazouri	
Martha Barrett	- Aye
Nancy Broner	- Aye
Betty Burney	- Aye
Victoria Drake	- Ауе
William Gentry	- Ауе
Thomas Hazouri	- Aye
Brenda Priestly jackson	- Aye

Administration and Business Services - Budget and Financial

1. PUBLIC HEARING - 2010-2011 FINAL MILLAGE RATES AND FINAL BUDGET

Attachment: <u>Certification of Public Hearings.pdf</u> Attachment: <u>Categorical Flexible Spending Resolution.pdf</u> Attachment: <u>Resolution Adopting 10-11.pdf</u> Attachment: <u>ESE524.pdf</u> Attachment: <u>ESE524(a).pdf</u>

Minutes:

Public Hearing Speakers:

- Mr. Joe Strasser Never married and has no children in the District, however, he is a supporter of public education. Mr. Strasser is also a supporter of Tree Hill and encouraged the school system to continue their involvement with this organization. He also commended the system on hiring their own Police Department.
- Mr. Mark Mumal, Tree Hill Encouraged the school system to continue their funding which allows students to take field trips to Tree Hill

Speakers:

Ms. Brenda Priestly Jackson, Board Chairman Mr. Mike Perrone, Chief Financial Officer Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent

Final Millage Rates for fiscal year 2010-2011 are as follows:

	<u>Millage Levy</u>	<u>To Be Raised</u>
Required Local Effort (RLE)	5.3460	\$303,542,232
Basic Discretionary Operating	0.7480	\$ 42,470,930
Basic Discretionary Capital Outlay	1.5000	\$ 85,168,976
Disc. Critical Needs (Operating)	<u>0.2500</u>	<u>\$ 14,194,829</u>
Totals:	7.8440	\$445,376,967

Final Budget for the 2010-2011 year as follows:

General Operating in the amount of	\$1,013,115,794
Special Revenue Budget in the amount of	\$ 255,550,183
Debt Service Budget in the amount of	\$ 40,291,061
Capital Outlay Budget in the amount of	\$ 315,861,321
Internal Service Budget in the amount of	<u>\$ 145,038,553</u>
Total Final Budget:	\$1,769,856,912

Motions:

Vote 1 - Vote on Required Local Effort Millage - PASS Levy of 5.3460 Mills for the Operating Fund.

Vote Results

Motion: Nancy Broner

Second: Thomas Hazouri

Martha Barrett	- Aye
Nancy Broner	- Aye
Betty Burney	- Aye
Victoria Drake	- Aye
William Gentry	- Aye
Thomas Hazouri	- Aye
Brenda Priestly jackson	- Aye

Motions:

Vote 2 - Vote on Basic Discretionary Millage Levy of 0.7480 Mills for the Operating Fund.

Vote Results	
Motion: Nancy Broner	
Second: Victoria Drake	
Martha Barrett	- Aye
Nancy Broner	- Aye
Betty Burney	- Aye
Victoria Drake	- Aye
William Gentry	- Aye
Thomas Hazouri	- Aye
Brenda Priestly jackson	- Aye

Motions:

Vote 3 - Vote on Capital Outlay Millage Levy of	- PASS
1.5000 Mills for the Capital Projects Fund.	-1733

Vote Results	
Motion: Nancy Broner	
Second: Victoria Drake	
Martha Barrett	- Aye
Nancy Broner	- Aye
Betty Burney	- Aye
Victoria Drake	- Aye
William Gentry	- Aye
Thomas Hazouri	- Aye
Brenda Priestly jackson	- Aye

Motions:

Vote 4 - Vote on Discretionary Critical Needs (Operating) Millage Levy of 0.2500 Mills for the General Fund. This vote requires a Super Majority.

Vote Results		
Motion: Nancy Broner		
Second: Victoria Drake		
Martha Barrett	- Aye	
Nancy Broner	- Aye	
Betty Burney	- Aye	
Victoria Drake	- Aye	
William Gentry	- Aye	
Thomas Hazouri	- Aye	
Brenda Priestly jackson	- Aye	

Motions:	
Vote 5 - Vote on 2010-2011 Final Budget.	- PASS
Vote Results	
Motion: Nancy Broner	
Second: Betty Burney	
Martha Barrett	- Aye
Nancy Broner	- Aye
Betty Burney	- Aye
Victoria Drake	- Aye
William Gentry	- Aye
Thomas Hazouri	- Aye
Brenda Priestly jackson	- Aye

Motions:

Vote 6 - Vote on Approval of 2010-2011 - PASS Categorical Flexibility Funding Resolution.

Vote Results

Motion: Nancy Broner	
Second: Thomas Hazouri	
Martha Barrett	- Aye
Nancy Broner	- Aye
Betty Burney	- Aye
Victoria Drake	- Aye
William Gentry	- Aye
Thomas Hazouri	- Aye
Brenda Priestly jackson	- Aye

2. ANNUAL FINACIAL REPORT INCLUSIVE OF THE AUTOMATED COST REPORT

Minutes:

Speakers:

Ms. Brenda Priestly Jackson, Board Chairman Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent

Motions:

That the Duval County School Board
accepts for use and consideration the
Superintendent's Annual Financial - PASS
Report for the fiscal year ending June
30, 2010, as presented.

Vote Results	
Motion: Victoria Drake	
Second: Nancy Broner	
Martha Barrett	- Aye
Nancy Broner	- Aye
Betty Burney	- Aye
Victoria Drake	- Aye
William Gentry	- Aye
Thomas Hazouri	- Aye

- Aye

3. ADOPTION OF BUDGET RESOLUTIONS

Attachment: <u>Budget Resolutions September Spreadsheet.pdf</u> Attachment: <u>Budget Resolutions September Narratives 90210.pdf</u>

Minutes:

Speakers:

Ms. Brenda Priestly Jackson, Board Chairman Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent

Motions:

That the Duval County School Board adopt the following Budget Resolutions.

General Fund - Budget Resolution no. 9

Debt Service Fund - Budget Resolution no. 5

Food Service Fund - Budget Resolution no. 9

Special Revenue Other Fund - Budget Resolution no. 9

Special Revenue Other ARRA - Budget - PASS Resolution no. 9

Special Revenue-State Fiscal Stabilization Funds - Budget Resolution no. 9

Special Revenue Targeted ARRA Stimulus Fund - Budget Resolution no. 9

Capital Project Fund - Budget Resolution no. 9

Internal Service Fund - Budget Resolution no. 9

Vote Results	
Motion: Victoria Drake	
Second: Nancy Broner	
Nancy Broner	- Aye
Martha Barrett	- Aye
Betty Burney	- Aye
Victoria Drake	- Aye
William Gentry	- Aye
Thomas Hazouri	- Aye
Brenda Priestly jackson	- Aye

Adjournment

ADJOURNMENT

Minutes:

The Chairman adjourned the Special Meeting at 5:36 p.m.

Superintendent

Chairman